17/52 Help! My people skills suck!


I have yet to produce a blue ribbon quality people/portrait entry for our county fair this summer. I have what I believe are contest quality photos for the insect/animal, scenery/landscape, flower, human interest and unclassified categories but … my people skills suck! My granddaughter is most cooperative and very photogenic, but to achieve a really good portrait, I knew her smiles had to be spontaneous and not forced. So I planned an Easter egg hunt in a park setting where the deep blue sky and lush green grass of an early spring would complement her pretty pink and white outfit. Not!!! Mother Nature was most uncooperative. The temp turned chilly so my model shivered throughout the entire shoot. The afternoon sun muted the landscape.  One idea did work well. Instead of filling her eggs with candy, I used Peeps for an element of surprise. This is my pick of the day; if you think one of photos in the gallery is better, let me know. Feel free to comment, critique …  share advice, tips, tutorials … help!

Photo of the Week series: Every Sunday in 2012 I will either share a photo from my archives or something new I just can’t wait to get feedback on for future art shows/exhibits.

Blogger participation: My hope is to receive enough input on each week’s photo to later post a Bloggers’ Choice of the Month and wrap up 2012 with a Bloggers’ Choice of the Year.

11 thoughts on “17/52 Help! My people skills suck!”

  1. Hi Sheila, I agree with the photo you picked as your favorite, that one is mine favorite as well… to photograph children is actually something completely different… and you know what… I gave myself this challenge as well: I offered my collegue to shoot her little daughter ( 1 year old) and her brother (of 7) … we are still waiting for the weather to turn better… and I am very excited to do this… my FIRST time 😀 …so I will keep an eye on this post hoping some people will come up with great advice! 😀

    1. Thanks, Joanna, for your pick. I have a couple more portrait sessions to post for feedback before I have to choose one for the competition. Hope the weather and the children cooperate and your first portrait session goes well.

  2. I absolutely agree this is the best. The others are nice, similar to those a parent might take. Your “chosen one” is outstanding. It exudes excitement, pride, possessiveness and a chill in the air!

  3. I like the one you chose, but I REALLY like the one where she’s looking at the Peep in the egg (second to last photo). Her facial expression is not forced and there’s a sense of wonderment she has because of it. And she appears relaxed…no muscles constricted for any reason! Instead of a dark vignette, though, I’d do a white vignette. It’s more delicate and fits the subject. I don’t have any tips for photographing people. I have done it on the fly but not anything I’d submit anywhere. It’s really difficult!!! At least, for me. I hope you get some good tips from photogs who know how to photograph people.

    1. Thank you, Dezra. I appreciate your suggestion. I liked the white vignette in the featured photo; don’t know why I didn’t try it on the pose you speak of; I will definitely go back to the editing table.

Leave a Reply

