Child of the corn


I’m gonna live where the green grass grows
Watchin’ my corn pop up in rows ~ Tim McGraw (Jess Leary/Craig Wiseman)

Ok, it’s not my corn but I own it in my mind.

I stepped from the green grass in my backyard into the cornrows to watch the clouds dance across the field of blue above me.

Child of the CornLike a child, I sat down to greet the cornrows on their own level. The roots looked a bit parched so I stood up and did a little dance of my own.

CornrowOne with the corn, I reached alongside the 10-foot stalks to fight for my share of the life-sustaining light and warmth of a late-July sun.

Reach for the sun

4 thoughts on “Child of the corn”

Leave a Reply

